Ford’s Performance Seems to Continue Dominance at MIS

Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, MI — August 5, 2022

Ford has won seven consecutive NASCAR Cup Series races at Michigan International Speedway, which will host races on Saturday and Sunday for the only time of the season. The current record includes three consecutive season sweeps (2018-20) and last year’s win by Ryan Blaney.

This Weekend Schedule:

Saturday, August 6 – NASCAR XFINITY Series, 3:30pm (USA)

Sunday, August 7 – NASCAR Cup Series, 15:00 (USA)

Tickets are available for purchase online on the MIS website.

Ford History in the Cup Series at Michigan International Speedway

  • Ford has an all-time series win at MIS, which is the most at any current track on the circuit.
  • Ford goes into this weekend having won seven in a row at MIS.
  • Jack Roush has the most wins among car owners in MIS with 13 wins while the Wood Brothers are next with 11.

No manufacturer has had more success at Michigan International Speedway than Ford, who came into this weekend to extend his winning streak to seven races. Since the track opened in 1969 there have been 104 NASCAR Cup Series races and the Ford Motor Company has won more than half of them (52%). Overall, the company has 54 MIS wins with 42 being Ford and 12 Mercury. David Pearson is the all-time track leader in wins with nine (all Mercury) while Bill Elliott has Ford’s most wins with seven.

Seven straight wins including three of the last four wins came from Kevin Harvick. Stewart-Haas Racing’s driver became the first driver in NASCAR history to win a race on consecutive days at the same track when he did so during a doubleheader weekend in 2020.

Ryan Blaney continued his record last season when he held off William Byron and Kyle Larson for his second win of 2021.

Ryan Blaney celebrates his win at Michigan International Speedway / Lasco Press Photo

2018 – Clint Bowyer and Kevin Harvick

2019 – Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick

2020 – Kevin Harvick two wins (weekend doubleheader)

2021 – Ryan Blaney (single Cup race only)


Joey Logano started and won from pole for the second time in his career at Michigan International Speedway when he captured the June race in 2016. Logano finished ahead of Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson with Penske team-mate Brad Keselowski finishing fourth. The new aerodynamic package, promising to produce lower downforce, did not disappoint as there were 14 lead changes with Logano leading six times for a total of 138 laps. The win gave Team Penske their 50th Cup win with Ford and resulted in their 100th win for Roush Yates Engines in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Photo of Ford Mustang / Lasco Press Joey Logano

Ford Motor Co. swept the inaugural season of the NASCAR Cup Series racing at Michigan International Speedway in 1969 as Cale Yarborough (Mercury) and David Pearson (Ford) took turns to the winning streak. Yarborough won a fierce battle in the track opener on June 15 after overcoming Lee Roy Yarbrough with three laps remaining to put the Wood Brothers on track. It capped a finish that saw Yarborough, Pearson and Yarbrough swap their lead 20 times over the final 146 laps.

The second date took place on August 17th and this time Pearson and Holman-Moody took the checkered flag. Pearson sat on pole and led 79 of the 165 completed laps. The race, which was originally scheduled to be a 600-mile event, was suspended at that point and declared official due to rain. Pearson went on to win a record nine times at the MIS, which put him on the speedway’s all-time MENCS winner.


Bill Elliott is the only driver to have won four consecutive NASCAR Cup Series races at Michigan International Speedway, sweeping both events in 1985 and ’86, and he ended that impressive run in domination. Elliott led 125-of-200 laps on August 17, 1986, to beat Tim Richmond to the finish line and win the Champion Spark Plug 400. Elliott went on to win seven career races on the MIS and is currently third on the all-time list, trailing only David Pearson ( 9) and Cale Yarborough (8).


Dale Jarrett recorded his first NASCAR Cup Series win in unforgettable fashion at Michigan International Speedway on August 18, 1991. Jarrett, who was in his second season driving for the Wood Brothers, found himself in a fierce battle with Davey Allison, who trailed him for more than the last dozen laps. at No. His 28 Texaco Havoline Thunderbird.

Allison moved out on to turn four and was next to Jarrett as the two took the white flag together. They took turns exchanging advantages but never left each other’s side. As they exited turn four, the two Fords made contact, but it was Jarrett who ended up trailing Allison by eight inches at the finish line.


Greg Biffle recorded Ford’s 1,000th NASCAR win when he took the checkered flag on June 16, 2013, in the Quicken Loans 400. The milestone win, which includes combined wins at the NASCAR Camping World Truck, NASCAR XFINITY, and NASCAR Cup Series, is Biffle. second in a row in MIS and fourth overall. The race formed into a battle between Biffle, who took the lead, and a hardy Jimmie Johnson, but a flat tire ended Johnson’s chances with two laps to go.

Desired Inheritance Trophy

When Joey Logano won the Pure Michigan 400 at Michigan International Speedway on August 18, 2013, it represented his first win with Ford and new car owner Roger Penske. But it also marks the first time a speedway has been awarded the Michigan Heritage trophy, which is awarded to the winning manufacturer of every NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at MIS. Logano, who won pole and led the race 51 laps, passed Mark Martin to take the lead with four laps remaining after Martin’s car ran out of gas.

Ford has brought it back to World Headquarters near Dearborn more times than any other manufacturer. Ford has won nine races since the trophy appeared while Chevrolet has won six and Toyota one.

Edsel Ford II at Michigan International Speedway, hoping to bring the Heritage Trophy back to Dearborn / Lasco Press Photo

Winner of the Ford NASCAR Cup Series in Michigan

1969 – David Pearson (2)

1984 – Bill Elliott (1)

1985 – Bill Elliott (Broom)

1986 – Bill Elliott (Broom)

1987 – Bill Elliott (2)

1988 – Davey Allison (2)

1989 – Bill Elliott (1)

1990 – Mark Martin (2)

1991 – Davey Allison and Dale Jarrett

1992 – Davey Allison (1)

1993 – Mark Martin (2)

1994 – Rusty Wallace and Geoffrey Bodine

1996 – Rusty Wallace and Dale Jarrett

1997 – Ernie Irvan and Mark Martin

1998 – Mark Martin (1)

1999 – Dale Jarrett (1)

2000 – Rusty Wallace (2)

2002 – Matt Kenseth and Dale Jarrett

2003 – Kurt Busch (1)

2004 – Greg Biffle (2)

2005 – Greg Biffle (1)

2006 – Matt Kenseth (2)

2007 – Carl Edwards (1)

2008 – Carl Edwards (2)

2012 – Greg Biffle (2)

2013 – Greg Biffle and Joey Logano

2016 – Joey Logano (1)

2018 – Clint Bowyer (1) and Kevin Harvick (2)

2019 – Joey Logano (1) and Kevin Harvick (2)

2020 – Kevin Harvick (Broom)

2021 – Ryan Blaney

Leave a Comment